DRINK: Coco Momo, Marylebone, NW1

Good location, bad service. Where to draw the line?

I’m in Marylebone a fair deal – and while that place does not want for a good restaurant or ten – (Providores, Orrery, L’Autre Pied, Trishna, Relais de Venise, Villandry, Verru anyone?) – it struggles with seriously good watering holes. I don’t mean pubs, there’s plenty of those with plenty of pond life spilling out of them. I mean somewhere a bit classy, a bit special, with lovely wine and lovely service and loos that don’t smell perenially of damp. Coco Momo for instance – great location, perfect for people watching, a real sun trap. But shoddy service, crap wine, hateful loos and some wierd rule about licensing that sees them kick half their clientele of prime sun seats at 6pm every evening. Bizarre. And yet, still, I find myself here, drinking till closing. Because there’s nowhere else. Where do you go folks? Answers in the comments please.

