WORK: A baby shower in London…

Last night all the lovely girls from my work organised a surprise baby shower – and they proved they know me rather well by keeping the agenda strictly devoid of cake and tea and confetti and firmly on an evening of good chat, good food, a few bubbles and a cool Soho venue.

I wore a new purchase from good old H&M Maternity (£14.99, thank you very much)….

IMG_0682

And they picked Jackson & Rye – a trendy little cocktail and burger bar – and ensured I was positioned firmly in the middle of the table to soak up all the atmosphere. The whole of the editorial team – including my brave male deputy editor (!) – was there and my friend Kate who works in another department. They surprised me early on with three bags of presents and we all got as free glass of Champagne from signing in on Facebook. Ah the power of social media!

IMG_0688 IMG_0689 IMG_0691

 

The presents were lovely – an amazing range of gender-neutral clothes, all very stylish, as you would expect from the fashion-forward editorial team of luxury magazines! I especially love this very on-trend little number from Zara Baby.

IMG_0692It was such a fun evening, and I even lasted till 10:30pm, way later than my usual bedtime! I was therefore home too late to show all my presents to Richard, so I made him sit through the present parade the next morning.

We got some adorable babygrows…

IMG_0701A little hat with ears…

IMG_0703

A Guardian award-wining book…

IMG_0696

A Harrods bunny….

IMG_0694

A rattle – that Richard proceeded to taunt the cat with….

IMG_0699 IMG_0698 IMG_0697

And lots of other lovely useful baby things, including mittens, socks, bibs and hats….

IMG_0700It was the perfect reminder that in the midst of work craziness (no maternity cover, too much to do and not enough time) and house busyness (gas safety certificates, tenancy agreements and cleaners), there’s something much, much more important going on and some incredible changes coming for us both. Very exciting.

 

 

 

